## **Google just announced it will begin removing accounts that have been inactive for at least 2 years as part of a new privacy plan.** With this action, people will not only lose access to email, but also lose content stored in (Google)(https://www.24h.com.vn/google-c407e4341.html) Workspace, including Google Docs and Google Photos. However, the announcement on May 16 was just a warning as the company said it would only start deleting users’ accounts as early as December this year. The change will only affect individual accounts and will not affect the accounts of organizations like schools or businesses. Google will start by deleting accounts that have been created but are then never used again, and the company will send out multiple notices in the months before the deletions are made. Notifications will be sent to both Gmail and the recovery email if available. Those who don’t want their inactive accounts deleted should make sure to sign in to them. The company also shared some examples of activity for those who are signed in, including reading or sending email, using Google Drive, using Google Search, and watching YouTube videos. Explaining the new action, Google said deleting inactive accounts is a security decision. Inactive accounts are more likely to be compromised because they can use old or reuse passwords. They are also 10 times less likely to set up two-step verification than active accounts. That means these accounts are often vulnerable, and once an account is compromised, they can be used for anything from identity theft to unwanted content or even even malicious, like spam”. This is one of Google’s latest security moves. The company also recently announced that it will be offering a more secure password key (passkey) as an option during the login process.